Shafiat Sobhan Sanvir Attended at Kaler Kantho 10th Anniversary

Country’s leading Bangla daily the Kaler Kantho stepped into the 11th year of its journey on Friday with a renewed pledge to uphold the spirit of liberation war for developing a non-communal Bangladesh.

On the occasion of the founding anniversary, the daily organised a day-long get-together and reception programme at the International Convention City Bashundhara (ICCB) in the capital.

Ministers, lawmakers, political leaders from different parties, foreign diplomats, leaders from journalist unions, print and electronic media, editors, readers, patrons and well-wishers joined the event. A total of 25 eminent personalities were awarded by the daily for their outstanding contribution to different fields of the country. They received Tk 1 lakh cheque each and a crest.
Speaker of Jatiya Sangshad Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury attended the function as the chief guest while Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan was the guest of honour.

Among others, Housing and Public Works Minister SM Rezaul Karim, Health Minister Zahid Maleque and Disaster and Relief Minister Md Enamur Rahman, and diplomats from India and China, were also present on the occasion.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury said the daily Kaler Kantho has gained unique readership through practising objective journalism.

“The nation is celebrating the historical homecoming day of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman today. The newspaper is also celebrating its founding anniversary marking its 10th anniversary of upholding the spirit of the liberation war in news and contents,” she said.

Besides, the newspaper has also played a courageous role in projecting positive stories of the country and development strategies of the government, she said.

The Speaker also expressed hope that the newspaper will be able to uphold its success by practising objective journalism.
Appreciating the awardees, Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan said the enlighten personalities are not only lighthouses for Bangladesh but also their contributions to the world acclaimed internationally.

He reiterated the commitment of media outlets of the East West Media Group Ltd (EWMGL) to continue their high professionalism upholding the spirit of the liberation war. He said the newsmen working in EWMGL also project the positive and development of stories of the country with honesty and sincerity.

Referring to the contribution of the Father of the Nation, the Bashundhara Group Chairman said: “We would not have achieved today’s progress had Bangabandhu not liberated the country. The ideals of the Father of the Nation acted behind all development of the country.”

He said Bangladesh achieved tremendous development in all sectors under the dynamic leadership of Bangabandhu’s worthy daughter Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. She (Hasina) is working relentlessly to turn the country into Sonar Bangla as envisaged by Bangabandhu.

Bashundhara Group Vice Chairmen Shafiat Sobhan and Safwan Sobhan were also present on the occasion. Kaler Kantho Acting Editor Mostofa Kamal made welcome address while Editor Imdadul Haq Milan moderated the session.

Imdadul Haq Milan in his speech said the newspaper will continue to maintain objective journalism highlighting social justice, equality, peace and stability.

Daily Sun Editor Enamul Hoque Chowdhury along with senior journalists of the daily greeted Kaler Kantho on its 10th anniversary with a flower bouquet.

Among others, Bangladesh Pratidin Editor Naem Nizam, Kaler Kantho Publisher Maynal Hossain Chowdhury, Banglanews24 Editor Jewel Mazher, News24 Head of News Rahul Raha, Daily Sun City & Diplomatic Editor Rezaul Karim Lotus, Chief Reporter Firoz Al Mamun were also present on the occasion.

Director-General of Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) Benazir Ahmed and Senior Assistant Director Mizanur Rahman also joined the programme and wished the newspaper.

People from different walks of life joined the celebration and wished the newspaper for its continuous success in future.

The award recipients are: Ahmad Rafique (Language Movement), Prof Serajul Islam Chy (Education), Toab Khan (Journalism), Jahirul Haque (Football), Hasan Azizul Huq (Literature), Nirmalendu Goon (Poetry), Rafiqul Islam (Liberation War), Farida Akhtar Babita (Film), Kazi Salahuddin (Football), Syed Manzur Elahi (Business), AKM Mozammel Haque (Liberation War), Rokanuddin Mahmud (Law), Sabina Yeasmin(Music), Muhammad Kamruzzaman (Journalism), Aly Zaker (Drama), Syed Abul Hossain (Education), Mofazzal Karim (Public Administration), Prof ABM Abdullah (Health), Bashir Ahmed (Hockey), Akram Khan (Cricket), Abdus Sattar (Shooting ), Ateequr Rahman (Shooting), Prof Saleh Ahmed (Health), Abdul Kadir Molla (Education) and Niaz Murshed (Chess).

Please follow and like us:
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial